Digest Archive vol 1 Issue 386
From: owner-champ-l-digest@sysabend.org 
Sent: Thursday, June 10, 1999 3:34 PM 
To: champ-l-digest@sysabend.org 
Subject: champ-l-digest V1 #386 
 
 
champ-l-digest         Thursday, June 10 1999         Volume 01 : Number 386 
 
 
 
In this issue: 
 
    Re: New Limitation: Power runs on STUN 
    RE: New Limitation: Power runs on STUN 
    Re: Cruelty to Animals (was The Mummy) 
    Re: Fantasy HERO Magical Treasure Conversion 
    RE: New Limitation: Power runs on STUN 
    Re: Instant Change 
    Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Instant Change 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Automata 
    Re: CHAR: Chthonian (fwd) 
    Re: Automata 
    Re: Fantasy HERO Magical Treasure Conversion 
    Re: Instant Change 
    Re: New Limitation: Power runs on STUN 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
    Re: Upcoming from Surbrook (was The Mummy) 
    Nicholas Lubofsky's "The Hero System and Fuzion" Group at sixdegrees 
    Re: Nicholas Lubofsky's "The Hero System and Fuzion" Group at sixdegrees 
    Re: subscription change 
    Re: Upcoming from Surbrook (was The Mummy) 
    Re: Upcoming from Surbrook (was The Mummy) 
    Can a base be a scientist? 
    Re: Can a base be a scientist? 
    Re: Different Powers, same effects [was Instant Change] 
    Char: the crow 
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 11:34:37 -0400 
From: Bill Svitavsky <nbymail11@mln.lib.ma.us> 
Subject: Re: New Limitation: Power runs on STUN 
 
At 08:28 AM 6/10/99 -0700, Christopher Taylor wrote: 
 
> But I dont know why the rule limits your ability to buy down the 
>points, if something costs 0 END it still can be pushed (is it REALLY worth 
>10 STN to you?). 
> 
 
Actually, that's debatable. The Pushing rules say a power that doesn't 
normally cost END cannot be pushed. While "normally" might mean without the 
0 END advantage, it's unclear; I recently got a house ruling that I 
couldn't push a 0 END power from the GM of a game I'm about to start 
playing (Hi, Jesse.) 
 
Bill Svitavsky 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 11:38:02 -0400 
From: Brian Wawrow <bwawrow@fmco.com> 
Subject: RE: New Limitation: Power runs on STUN 
 
Hmmm... this is cool. However, I would make it a -1 limitation. This is a 
major disadvantage. Stun is gold and at heroic level END costs, you could 
never use a significant power without making yourself vulnerable. Setting 
off something big could stun you or knock you out. 
 
Really, if your GM offered you this limitation at a meagre -1/4, would you 
even consider it? 
 
] >Disadvantage-Power runs on STUN: 
] > 
] >    Powers that normally cost END to use can be converted to  
] use STUN point 
] >instead.  Such powers may not have their STUN/END cost  
] reduced to less than 
] >2 STUN, or 1/4 normal, whichever is greater.  Similarly,  
] such powers may not 
] >run on END/STUN batteries, or on charges. 
] > 
] >Disadvantage Total: -1/4 
] > 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 08:50:05 -0700 
From: Christopher Taylor <ctaylor@viser.net> 
Subject: Re: Cruelty to Animals (was The Mummy) 
 
>>> I once travelled (RPG here and not IRL) with a mage who had a "pouch of 
>>> throwing kittens".  Not much damage, but guarenteed to ruin concentration. 
>> 
>> ...in HoL, you have a "special weapon" known as the "Kitty-Kitty 
>>Bang-Bang" which is dynamite strapped on to the back of a cat. 
>> It's popular not because it has exceptionally potent explosives or 
>>an advanced delivery system, but because it's for sick people who like to 
>>blow up cats. 
> 
>   A classic Karnak bit: 
>   A: Siss Boom Baa. 
>   Q: Describe the sound of an exploding sheep. 
>   (I just *know* this is going to inspire something just as demented in 
>someone's game....) 
 
I don't know about my games, but in Worms there is this glorious leaping 
sheep bomb that does a whale load of damage but is sort of challenging to aim. 
 
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
Sola Gracia		Sola Scriptura		Sola Fide 
Soli Deo Gloria   	Solus Christus		Corum Deo 
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 08:51:00 -0700 
From: Christopher Taylor <ctaylor@viser.net> 
Subject: Re: Fantasy HERO Magical Treasure Conversion 
 
>   From what I remember of the original description, Charges would probably 
>be the best way to go.  100 charges would be a +3/4 Advantage, but Charges 
>Do Not Recover is a -2 Limitation. 
 
Note here that charges should NEVER NEVER NEVER cost more than 0 END 
cost... I really tried to get them to fix that in 5th edition but I doubt 
they did. 
 
 
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
Sola Gracia		Sola Scriptura		Sola Fide 
Soli Deo Gloria   	Solus Christus		Corum Deo 
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 11:52:52 -0400 
From: Bill Svitavsky <nbymail11@mln.lib.ma.us> 
Subject: RE: New Limitation: Power runs on STUN 
 
At 11:38 AM 6/10/99 -0400, Brian Wawrow wrote: 
>Hmmm... this is cool. However, I would make it a -1 limitation. This is a 
>major disadvantage. Stun is gold and at heroic level END costs, you could 
>never use a significant power without making yourself vulnerable. Setting 
>off something big could stun you or knock you out. 
> 
>Really, if your GM offered you this limitation at a meagre -1/4, would you 
>even consider it? 
> 
 
Yes, actually. I've been known to do horrendously inefficient things to 
build a good character concept. But actually, with the right character 
construction this disadvantage could make for fairly efficient construction. 
 
Imagine you're given the option of paying 1 point for a characteristic that 
can be used as either STUN or END. If you were going to sink a lot of 
points into END, or into CON so you could build both STUN and END, buying 
this dual-purpose characteristic at the same cost you'd normally pay for 
STUN is a pretty good deal. Now imagine that as an added bonus, you get a 
20% discount (a -1/4 Limitation) on the cost of your END-using powers if 
you have this dual-purpose characteristic. You simply buy up that STUN/END 
characteristic with the points you would have spent on CON, STUN, and END, 
and you've got quite an efficient character. For the right character, this 
is exactly what "Power runs on STUN" does. 
 
Bill Svitavsky  
 
>] >Disadvantage-Power runs on STUN: 
>] > 
>] >    Powers that normally cost END to use can be converted to  
>] use STUN point 
>] >instead.  Such powers may not have their STUN/END cost  
>] reduced to less than 
>] >2 STUN, or 1/4 normal, whichever is greater.  Similarly,  
>] such powers may not 
>] >run on END/STUN batteries, or on charges. 
>] > 
>] >Disadvantage Total: -1/4 
>] > 
> 
> 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 08:59:12 PDT 
From: S A Rudy <sarudy@hotmail.com> 
Subject: Re: Instant Change 
 
Stainless Steel Rat says: 
>* Geoff Speare <geoff@igcn.com>  on Wed, 09 Jun 1999 
>|As a hypothetical 5th edition Transformation, Transforming 
>|clothing to a specific power armor suit which the character |has paid  
>points for does not seem unreasonable. 
> 
>Yeah... but that is not a Transformation, that is a special effect. 
 
Actually, I would have to disagree.  A character with a 
power suit but not Instant Change would have to take (at 
least) as much time as any other hero with a costume 
change (as well as the problem of finding a safe place 
to leave the civvies). 
 
Consider Iron Man and Spiderman (assuming that their 
powers haven't changed since I last read their books). 
Niether has Instant Change.  Both have to go off and 
change their clothes when they want to go into heroic 
ID, whether they're wearing part of the costume under 
their clothes or not. 
 
If I had a PC who wanted to be able to change instantly 
from civvies to a power suit, whatever the SFX, I'd 
expect them to take Instant Change. 
 
- -S 
 
- -- 
|Now you, too can say "I've been to Hellenback!" Just drop by 
|http://www.eclipse.net/~srudy/helnback/index.html 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________ 
Get Free Email and Do More On The Web. Visit http://www.msn.com 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 12:02:43 -0400 (EDT) 
From: Jason Sullivan <ravanos@NJCU.edu> 
Subject: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
	I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into 
snakes. 
	I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks turn 
into snakes.	 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 12:04:46 -0400 (EDT) 
From: Michael Surbrook <susano@dedaana.otd.com> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
 
> 	I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into 
> snakes. 
> 	I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
> sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks turn 
> into snakes.	 
 
Yes, because if you don't have the sticks, you can't get the snakes. 
 
- -- 
Michael Surbrook - susano@otd.com - http://www.otd.com/~susano/index.html 
 
 "If ye love wealth greater than liberty, the tranquility of servitude greater 
  than the animating contest for freedom, go home from us in peace.  We seek 
  not your counsel, nor your arms.  Crouch down and lick the hand that feeds 
          you; and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen." 
                               Samuel Adams 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 12:09:47 -0400 
From: Bill Svitavsky <nbymail11@mln.lib.ma.us> 
Subject: Re: Instant Change 
 
At 08:59 AM 6/10/99 PDT, S A Rudy wrote: 
>Stainless Steel Rat says: 
>>* Geoff Speare <geoff@igcn.com>  on Wed, 09 Jun 1999 
>>|As a hypothetical 5th edition Transformation, Transforming 
>>|clothing to a specific power armor suit which the character |has paid  
>>points for does not seem unreasonable. 
>> 
>>Yeah... but that is not a Transformation, that is a special effect. 
> 
>Actually, I would have to disagree.  A character with a 
>power suit but not Instant Change would have to take (at 
>least) as much time as any other hero with a costume 
>change (as well as the problem of finding a safe place 
>to leave the civvies). 
> 
I agree with your disagreement. 
 
>Consider Iron Man and Spiderman (assuming that their 
>powers haven't changed since I last read their books). 
>Niether has Instant Change.  Both have to go off and 
>change their clothes when they want to go into heroic 
>ID, whether they're wearing part of the costume under 
>their clothes or not. 
> 
 
Spider-Man's alien parasite costume, on the other hand, gave him Instant 
Change - a definite advantage over his normal costume. 
 
Bill Svitavsky 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 12:12:08 -0400 (EDT) 
From: Jason Sullivan <ravanos@NJCU.edu> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Michael Surbrook wrote: 
> On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
> > 	I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into  
> > snakes. 
> > 	I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
> > sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks turn 
> > into snakes.	 
>  
> Yes, because if you don't have the sticks, you can't get the snakes. 
	 
	Inobvious Inaccessable Foci? 
		 
	I'd like to see someone disarm my snakes.  :) 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 12:15:33 -0400 
From: Bill Svitavsky <nbymail11@mln.lib.ma.us> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
At 12:12 PM 6/10/99 -0400, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
>On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Michael Surbrook wrote: 
>> On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
>> > 	I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into  
>> > snakes. 
>> > 	I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
>> > sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks 
turn 
>> > into snakes.	 
>>  
>> Yes, because if you don't have the sticks, you can't get the snakes. 
>	 
>	Inobvious Inaccessable Foci? 
>		 
>	I'd like to see someone disarm my snakes.  :) 
> 
 
I'd say the sticks are more likely OAF. The Focus doesn't have to stick 
around as long as the snakes do to qualify for a bonus; it's a Focus for 
Summon, and the Summoning is done as soon as the snakes arrive. 
 
Bill Svitavsky 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 11:19:44 -0500 (CDT) 
From: "Dr. Nuncheon" <jeffj@io.com> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
> On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Michael Surbrook wrote: 
> > On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
> > > 	I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into  
> > > snakes. 
> > > 	I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
> > > sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks turn 
> > > into snakes.	 
> >  
> > Yes, because if you don't have the sticks, you can't get the snakes. 
> 	 
> 	Inobvious Inaccessable Foci? 
> 		 
> 	I'd like to see someone disarm my snakes.  :) 
 
They'd be OAF if you had to hold the stick to turn it into a snake - 
someone could easily take away the stick. Once you've finished the 
Summoning, whether you have the stick or not is unimportant because the 
snakes are already there. 
 
J 
 
Hostes aliengeni me abduxerent.              Jeff Johnston - jeffj@io.com 
Qui annus est?                                   http://www.io.com/~jeffj 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 12:20:08 -0400 (EDT) 
From: Michael Surbrook <susano@dedaana.otd.com> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
 
> > > 	I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into  
> > > snakes. 
> > > 	I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
> > > sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks turn 
> > > into snakes.	 
> >  
 
> > Yes, because if you don't have the sticks, you can't get the snakes. 
> 	 
> 	Inobvious Inaccessable Foci? 
 
OIF: Sticks of opportunity  and possibly and expendadble focus 
 
 		 
> 	I'd like to see someone disarm my snakes.  :) 
 
Well, snakes don't got arms (but clams got legs!)  
 
- -- 
Michael Surbrook - susano@otd.com - http://www.otd.com/~susano/index.html 
 
 "If ye love wealth greater than liberty, the tranquility of servitude greater 
  than the animating contest for freedom, go home from us in peace.  We seek 
  not your counsel, nor your arms.  Crouch down and lick the hand that feeds 
          you; and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen." 
                               Samuel Adams 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 09:22:43 -0700 (PDT) 
From: Ben Brown <benbrown@primenet.com> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
 
> On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Michael Surbrook wrote: 
> > On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
> > > 	I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into  
> > > snakes. 
> > > 	I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
> > > sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks turn 
> > > into snakes.	 
> >  
> > Yes, because if you don't have the sticks, you can't get the snakes. 
> 	 
> 	Inobvious Inaccessable Foci? 
> 		 
> 	I'd like to see someone disarm my snakes.  :) 
 
I'd rate it as an IIF, simply because a) it's a focus of opportunity.  Any 
sufficiently sized stick will do (or is this not right?) therefore, it's not 
really accessible, since there are (usually) more sticks.  also, b) it's 
not obvious that the sticks will become snakes until they do so, so it's 
inobvious.  Once the spell is cast (or whatever), it kind of becomes a 
moot point.  You _can_ grab the snakes, but do you want to? 
 
- -Ben 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 09:27:32 -0700 
From: Christopher Taylor <ctaylor@viser.net> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
>	I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into 
>snakes.  I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
>sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks turn 
>into snakes.	 
 
Since summon is an instant power, the focus isnt needed any more after the 
power is started.  However, you might want to put a limitation on the focus 
that its locked out once the summon goes off (he cant summon 15 more 
because the focus IS the snake). 
 
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
Sola Gracia		Sola Scriptura		Sola Fide 
Soli Deo Gloria   	Solus Christus		Corum Deo 
- -------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 12:41:16 -0400 (EDT) 
From: Jason Sullivan <ravanos@NJCU.edu> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Christopher Taylor wrote: 
> >	I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into 
> >snakes.  I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
> >sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks turn 
> >into snakes.	 
> Since summon is an instant power, the focus isnt needed any more after the 
> power is started.  However, you might want to put a limitation on the focus 
> that its locked out once the summon goes off (he cant summon 15 more 
> because the focus IS the snake). 
 
	Here's my problem... 
	To activate the power, you toss the sticks at what you want and in 
mid air (or when it lands) it transforms into the snake. 
 
	Perhaps the Foci is SFX, and the actual power is Recoverable 
Charges (to recover, pick up more Sticks or retrive the old ones)? 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 12:45:25 -0400 (EDT) 
From: Michael Surbrook <susano@dedaana.otd.com> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
 
> 	Here's my problem... 
> 	To activate the power, you toss the sticks at what you want and in 
> mid air (or when it lands) it transforms into the snake. 
 
You still need the sticks. 
  
> 	Perhaps the Foci is SFX, and the actual power is Recoverable 
> Charges (to recover, pick up more Sticks or retrive the old ones)? 
 
Yup.  Recoverable is good. 
 
- -- 
Michael Surbrook - susano@otd.com - http://www.otd.com/~susano/index.html 
 
 "If ye love wealth greater than liberty, the tranquility of servitude greater 
  than the animating contest for freedom, go home from us in peace.  We seek 
  not your counsel, nor your arms.  Crouch down and lick the hand that feeds 
          you; and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen." 
                               Samuel Adams 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 09:27:32 -0700 
From: "James Jandebeur" <james@javaman.to> 
Subject: Re: Automata 
 
> for what it's worth I ignore that 3x rule.  You are a fool not to buy 
> normal PD/ED in a superhero campaign even if you DONT take STN because the 
> energy blasts will rip you to shreds if you dont. 
 
Well, yes, you will be ripped to shreds if you don't have some PD and ED, 
but you don't need nearly as much: without taking STUN a 12 defense will, on 
average, completely ignore a 12d6 EB. A 14 Resistant defense will ignore the 
equivalent 4d6 Killing Attack. I always assumed that was why they increased 
the cost of defense for Automata. 
 
JAJ, Gaming Philosopher 
http://www.javaman.to/philosopher.html 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 13:22:29 -0400 (EDT) 
From: Michael Surbrook <susano@dedaana.otd.com> 
Subject: Re: CHAR: Chthonian (fwd) 
 
On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
 
> > > > > >21	Summon Earthquakes: TK: 10 STR, AoE: Radius x16 (+2),  
> > > > > >	Personal Immunity (+1/4), 1/2 END (+1/4), No Range (-1/2), Only 
> > > > > >	affects things in or on the ground (-1/2), Only can be used to 
> > > > > >	simulate the effects of an earthquake (-1), END 2 
 
> > >   Isn't it somewhat redundant to have: Only affects things in or on 
> > > 	Doesn't that make the power very cheap for something very 
> > > effective? 
> > Okay, what limitations would you apply to the power?  Would you build it 
> > some other way?  
 
> Only can be used to simulate the effects of an earthquake (-1)  
> and  
> Only affects things in or on the ground (-1/2)  
> is somewhat redundant,  
> since  
> the effect of Earthquakes Only affect things in or on the ground. 
 
Okay. 
  
> Only affects thing along a surface (-1/2) has popped up a Champions book 
> before.  To affect something within the earth, or to traverse a distance 
> between a solid, you would need Indirect (+1/4 suggested). 
 
Well, it's AOE: Radius, so it affects *everything* within the area.   
  
> Since the Earthquake only effects some objects, not all objects, you can 
> expand the Limitation to: Only objects that are fixed to a surface (-1/2), 
> since an earthquake isn't likely to affect objects sitting on a plain- a 
> person or a car, for example- except to shake the hell out of it.  Humans 
> are usually hurt by falling debris, and are otherwise impeded by the 
> vibration. 
 
Okay, makes sense. 
  
> Also, since the Cthonian may or may not be able to specifically target 
> areas, you can add the Limitations: Beam Attack/Can only be used at full 
> power (-1/4), Cannot move in Phase when power is used (-1/4), Cannot use 
> targeting with power to strike specific hit locations/Effects entire 
> object (-1/2)  
 
I agree with Cannot Move (makes sense to me) and "Effects Whole Object". 
I disagree with 'Beam" since it seems a Cthonian can vary the size of the 
earthquake. 
  
> 	If you wish to simply damage objects, and leave the "shaking" as 
> SFX, use Energy Blast. 
> 	If you wish to have better control over the objects in question, 
> use TK with less Limitations. 
 
I think the control is fine as is. 
  
> 	You might also want to Link an EB anyhow, with the Trigger: When 
> when damage exceeds maxium BODY of an object, and the Limitations: Damage 
> based on DEF/BODY of falling debris, Only to represent debris. 
> 	To represent the pinning effect of debris, use Entangle with 
> appropiate limitations (Entangle negated if objects/debris are lifted off, 
> etc.) 
> 	You may be able to bastardize Entangle to represent the effect of 
> the shaking ground, but that would mean going down the road of Slipping 
> and Oil Slicks. 
 
Isn't this a bit much?  I mean, using this loogic, I couldn't blow up a 
car with my Energy Blast unless I bought the power: EB, Explosion, 
Requires burning car...  I mean, shouldn't the fact that you've ruined a 
building with your TK give you some of these effects for free? 
 
- -- 
Michael Surbrook - susano@otd.com - http://www.otd.com/~susano/index.html 
 
 "If ye love wealth greater than liberty, the tranquility of servitude greater 
  than the animating contest for freedom, go home from us in peace.  We seek 
  not your counsel, nor your arms.  Crouch down and lick the hand that feeds 
          you; and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen." 
                               Samuel Adams 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 10:33:31 -0700 
From: Bob Greenwade <bob.greenwade@klock.com> 
Subject: Re: Automata 
 
At 09:27 AM 6/10/1999 -0700, James Jandebeur wrote: 
>> for what it's worth I ignore that 3x rule.  You are a fool not to buy 
>> normal PD/ED in a superhero campaign even if you DONT take STN because the 
>> energy blasts will rip you to shreds if you dont. 
> 
>Well, yes, you will be ripped to shreds if you don't have some PD and ED, 
>but you don't need nearly as much: without taking STUN a 12 defense will, on 
>average, completely ignore a 12d6 EB. A 14 Resistant defense will ignore the 
>equivalent 4d6 Killing Attack. I always assumed that was why they increased 
>the cost of defense for Automata. 
 
   I've operated on the same assumption, and make that assumption in my 
campaign advice in TUV: basically, if a character is primarily a vehicle 
operator (and the rule would logically apply to characters with the Takes 
No Stun Power), the DEF should be no more than 1/3 (or, at most, 2/7) of 
the PD/ED that would be allowed for a "brick" character.  If a brick is 
allowed a PD/ED of 40, for instance, then the Vehicle (or Automaton) should 
max out at DEF 13. 
- --- 
Bob's Original Hero Stuff Page!  [Circle of HEROS member] 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/original.htm 
Merry-Go-Round Webring -- wanna join? 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/merrhome.htm 
Interested in sarrusophones?  Join the Sarrusophone Mailing List! 
   http://www.onelist.com/subscribe/Sarrusophone 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 10:36:50 -0700 
From: Bob Greenwade <bob.greenwade@klock.com> 
Subject: Re: Fantasy HERO Magical Treasure Conversion 
 
At 08:51 AM 6/10/1999 -0700, Christopher Taylor wrote: 
>>   From what I remember of the original description, Charges would probably 
>>be the best way to go.  100 charges would be a +3/4 Advantage, but Charges 
>>Do Not Recover is a -2 Limitation. 
> 
>Note here that charges should NEVER NEVER NEVER cost more than 0 END 
>cost... I really tried to get them to fix that in 5th edition but I doubt 
>they did. 
 
   Well, I also made the recommendation that Charges should cost an extra 
- -1/2 if the Power normally doesn't cost END to use, but I think that got 
ignored as well. 
   FWIW, though, I'd mention your idea as a recommendation rather than a 
rule. 
- --- 
Bob's Original Hero Stuff Page!  [Circle of HEROS member] 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/original.htm 
Merry-Go-Round Webring -- wanna join? 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/merrhome.htm 
Interested in sarrusophones?  Join the Sarrusophone Mailing List! 
   http://www.onelist.com/subscribe/Sarrusophone 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 10:21:54 -0700 
From: Bob Greenwade <bob.greenwade@klock.com> 
Subject: Re: Instant Change 
 
At 08:32 AM 6/10/1999 -0700, Christopher Taylor wrote: 
> 
>That is why I put a number on the active points you can give: Transform can 
>only grant active points totalling the maximum that the dice can roll (so 
>if it is a 12D6 transform, you can give 60 AP total to the target).  This 
>makes cumulative transforms much much more limitation and keeps people from 
>doing just what you said above.  Nobody ever TRIED It in a game I ran, I 
>just didn't like them being able to. 
 
   I use the same rule, except that the amount I use for points granted is 
the amount actually rolled on the dice. 
   And the maximum on 12d6, BTW, is 72.  :-] 
- --- 
Bob's Original Hero Stuff Page!  [Circle of HEROS member] 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/original.htm 
Merry-Go-Round Webring -- wanna join? 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/merrhome.htm 
Interested in sarrusophones?  Join the Sarrusophone Mailing List! 
   http://www.onelist.com/subscribe/Sarrusophone 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 10:34:01 -0700 
From: Bob Greenwade <bob.greenwade@klock.com> 
Subject: Re: New Limitation: Power runs on STUN 
 
At 11:34 AM 6/10/1999 -0400, Bill Svitavsky wrote: 
>At 08:28 AM 6/10/99 -0700, Christopher Taylor wrote: 
> 
>> But I dont know why the rule limits your ability to buy down the 
>>points, if something costs 0 END it still can be pushed (is it REALLY worth 
>>10 STN to you?). 
>> 
> 
>Actually, that's debatable. The Pushing rules say a power that doesn't 
>normally cost END cannot be pushed. While "normally" might mean without the 
>0 END advantage, it's unclear; I recently got a house ruling that I 
>couldn't push a 0 END power from the GM of a game I'm about to start 
>playing (Hi, Jesse.) 
 
   FWIW, I'd make the same ruling. 
   And based on what I've seen in this discussion so far, I'd give this 
Limitation a bonus of -1. 
- --- 
Bob's Original Hero Stuff Page!  [Circle of HEROS member] 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/original.htm 
Merry-Go-Round Webring -- wanna join? 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/merrhome.htm 
Interested in sarrusophones?  Join the Sarrusophone Mailing List! 
   http://www.onelist.com/subscribe/Sarrusophone 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 10:26:26 -0700 
From: Bob Greenwade <bob.greenwade@klock.com> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
At 12:02 PM 6/10/1999 -0400, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
> 
> I'm working on a construct that turns a rod or a stick into 
>snakes. 
> I want to use Summon to represent this power.  However, I'm not 
>sure if the power qualifies for the Foci limitation, since the sticks turn 
>into snakes. 
 
   Yes, that's part of the definition of what Focus does. 
   Generally, this would be OIF: Sticks of Opportunity, since you can just 
walk around and find sticks just about anywhere in the wilderness.  If the 
sticks need some special preparation (especially if the preparation is 
expensive), it could be Expendable OAF. 
- --- 
Bob's Original Hero Stuff Page!  [Circle of HEROS member] 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/original.htm 
Merry-Go-Round Webring -- wanna join? 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/merrhome.htm 
Interested in sarrusophones?  Join the Sarrusophone Mailing List! 
   http://www.onelist.com/subscribe/Sarrusophone 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 10:35:38 -0700 
From: Bob Greenwade <bob.greenwade@klock.com> 
Subject: Re: Rod to Snake/Sticks to Snakes 
 
At 12:12 PM 6/10/1999 -0400, Jason Sullivan wrote: 
>   
> I'd like to see someone disarm my snakes.  :) 
 
   Michael beat me to the right punchline for this (snakes don't have 
arms).  :-P 
   I dunno what this has to do with the discussion, though, unless you're 
meaning that an opponent couldn't make the snakes disappear by taking the 
stick away.  If that's what you were meaning, Jason, then the other 
responses are correct: the stick is only needed as a Focus for the actual 
Summoning, just as the character would only have to pay END for the actual 
Summoning. 
- --- 
Bob's Original Hero Stuff Page!  [Circle of HEROS member] 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/original.htm 
Merry-Go-Round Webring -- wanna join? 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/merrhome.htm 
Interested in sarrusophones?  Join the Sarrusophone Mailing List! 
   http://www.onelist.com/subscribe/Sarrusophone 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 10:30:45 -0700 
From: Bob Greenwade <bob.greenwade@klock.com> 
Subject: Re: Upcoming from Surbrook (was The Mummy) 
 
At 09:50 AM 6/10/1999 -0500, Dr. Nuncheon wrote: 
> 
>>    (And FWIW cheesy sound effects are SFX.) 
> 
>Yah.  Although if the power isn't normally noticable you could probably 
>buy the Visible limitation on it... 
 
   Yeah, you're right.  It would be Visible on his Telescopic Vision.  ;-] 
- --- 
Bob's Original Hero Stuff Page!  [Circle of HEROS member] 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/original.htm 
Merry-Go-Round Webring -- wanna join? 
   http://www.klock.com/public/users/bob.greenwade/merrhome.htm 
Interested in sarrusophones?  Join the Sarrusophone Mailing List! 
   http://www.onelist.com/subscribe/Sarrusophone 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 14:17:43 -0500 
From: "Nicholas Lubofsky" <il4n370d2@bboard.sixdegrees.com> 
Subject: Nicholas Lubofsky's "The Hero System and Fuzion" Group at sixdegrees 
 
Nicholas Lubofsky (nick.lubofsky@ehpt.com) has invited you to join  
the "The Hero System and Fuzion" Group at sixdegrees.   
 
sixdegrees is a powerful online community where members are able to view  
the path of relationships that connect them to every other member.   
Nicholas's group is part of the sixdegrees interest group area,  
which allows members to take advantage of community-based tools,  
like bulletin boards and chat, in a relevant topic-based environment. 
 
Here's a personal message from Nicholas: 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
"Why deny it?  You've known it for years -- the Hero System is  
the best RPG system in the world!  Join this group! 
" 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
 
If you're already a member of sixdegrees, simply click on the link below to be  
taken directly to the "The Hero System and Fuzion" Group (you'll have to log in first): 
 
http://www.sixdegrees.com/groups/grouphome.asp?GroupID=14310&PwP=0 
 
If you're new to sixdegrees, you'll have to go through a short registration  
process.  It only takes a few minutes and it's free.   
 
To join sixdegrees or learn more, visit 
http://www.sixdegrees.com/ 
 
Note: As you register, you will be asked to provide the names of two people  
who might also like to participate in sixdegrees, so we can begin to get you  
connected.  Once they confirm the relationship, you can instantly tap into  
their interconnected community of interesting people from all over the world. 
 
We look forward to seeing you. 
 
=================================================================== 
 
PLEASE NOTE: All replies to this address are processed by a computer.  
If you have any problems, questions or requests send an e-mail to  
issues@sixdegrees.com and you'll receive a prompt and courteous response. 
 
==================================================================== 
 
sixdegrees is Registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. 
 
 
GROUP.INVITE-PUBLIC1.1 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 14:22:56 -0400 (EDT) 
From: Michael Surbrook <susano@dedaana.otd.com> 
Subject: Re: Nicholas Lubofsky's "The Hero System and Fuzion" Group at sixdegrees 
 
I wonder if he realizes that he sent that to a mailing list? 
 
- -- 
Michael Surbrook - susano@otd.com - http://www.otd.com/~susano/index.html 
 
 "If ye love wealth greater than liberty, the tranquility of servitude greater 
  than the animating contest for freedom, go home from us in peace.  We seek 
  not your counsel, nor your arms.  Crouch down and lick the hand that feeds 
          you; and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen." 
                               Samuel Adams 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 11:35:56 -0700 (PDT) 
From: John Desmarais <johndesmarais@yahoo.com> 
Subject: Re: subscription change 
 
- --- Lance Dyas <lancelot@inetnebr.com> wrote: 
> exactly how do i get my subscription changed to... 
> lancelot@inetnebr.com 
 
From the old email address send an email to champ-l-request@sysabend.org with 
UNSUBSCRIBE as the body of the message. 
 
Then, from the new address, send an email ot champ-l-request@sysabend.org with 
SUBSCRIBE as the body of the message. 
 
The listserver will automatically process the requests. 
 
If you no longer have access to the old email account just subscribe the new 
one and let me know what the old was is and I can unsubscribe it manually. 
 
- -=>John Desmarais 
http://www.sysabend.org/champions 
_________________________________________________________ 
Do You Yahoo!? 
Get your free @yahoo.com address at http://mail.yahoo.com 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 11:52:20 -0700 (PDT) 
From: John Desmarais <johndesmarais@yahoo.com> 
Subject: Re: Upcoming from Surbrook (was The Mummy) 
 
- --- Michael Surbrook <susano@dedaana.otd.com> wrote: 
> On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, Bob Greenwade wrote: 
>  
> > >> > "...a man barely alive.  We can rebuild him..." 
> > >>  
> > >> So you will answer the age-old question, "Are cheesy sound effects a 
> > >> Limitation or a Disadvantage?" 
> > > 
> > >Nope, the novel doesn't have cheesy sound effect.  (Yes, this will be the 
> > >original Martin Caidin version, not the TV version.) 
> >  
> >    I wasn't even aware that there was a novel on which the series had been 
> > based. 
> >    (And FWIW cheesy sound effects are SFX.) 
>  
> The novel was entitled "Cyborg" and was written by Martin Caidin in 1972. 
> I think it is the origin of the word 'cyborg' and possibly of the term  
> 'bionics' (although I could be wrong).  Basically, he's the granddaddy of 
> Cyborg (DC Comics), Kiddy Phenil (Silent Mobius), HalfJack (Champions), 
> Deathloc (Marvel), Battle Angel (Gunm) and a host of other characters. 
 
So, are you just gonna do te hero from that book, or are you gonna write-up the 
Godwhale as well? 
 
- -=>John Desmarais 
_________________________________________________________ 
Do You Yahoo!? 
Get your free @yahoo.com address at http://mail.yahoo.com 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 14:53:39 -0400 (EDT) 
From: Michael Surbrook <susano@dedaana.otd.com> 
Subject: Re: Upcoming from Surbrook (was The Mummy) 
 
On Thu, 10 Jun 1999, John Desmarais wrote: 
 
> > >    I wasn't even aware that there was a novel on which the series had been 
> > > based. 
> >  
> > The novel was entitled "Cyborg" and was written by Martin Caidin in 1972. 
> > I think it is the origin of the word 'cyborg' and possibly of the term  
> > 'bionics' (although I could be wrong).  Basically, he's the granddaddy of 
> > Cyborg (DC Comics), Kiddy Phenil (Silent Mobius), HalfJack (Champions), 
> > Deathloc (Marvel), Battle Angel (Gunm) and a host of other characters. 
>  
>  So, are you just gonna do te hero from that book, or are you gonna 
> write-up the Godwhale as well? 
 
Who or what is that? 
 
- -- 
Michael Surbrook - susano@otd.com - http://www.otd.com/~susano/index.html 
 
 "If ye love wealth greater than liberty, the tranquility of servitude greater 
  than the animating contest for freedom, go home from us in peace.  We seek 
  not your counsel, nor your arms.  Crouch down and lick the hand that feeds 
          you; and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen." 
                               Samuel Adams 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 15:13:49 -0400 
From: Bill Svitavsky <nbymail11@mln.lib.ma.us> 
Subject: Can a base be a scientist? 
 
I'm writing up a base with a bunch of labs, and it suddenly occurred to me 
I could save a few points buying the Scientist skill modifier for the base. 
My first thought was that this was pretty point munchkinish, but it does 
make a certain amount of sense for a high tech facility to be constructed 
in a way to facilitate adding new labs. And I can't find anything that 
makes this illegal. Any opinions? 
 
Bill Svitavsky 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 15:23:51 -0400 
From: Geoff Speare <geoff@igcn.com> 
Subject: Re: Can a base be a scientist? 
 
>I'm writing up a base with a bunch of labs, and it suddenly occurred to me 
>I could save a few points buying the Scientist skill modifier for the base. 
>My first thought was that this was pretty point munchkinish, but it does 
>make a certain amount of sense for a high tech facility to be constructed 
>in a way to facilitate adding new labs. And I can't find anything that 
>makes this illegal. Any opinions? 
 
Ooh, nice one. :) If I allowed Scientist for characters, I would probably 
allow it for a base, but require some sort of "special effect" drawback 
(example: all labs use some common equipment, which if destroyed would 
incapacitate most/all labs).  
 
Geoff Speare 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 11:01:13 -0700 
From: jayphailey@juno.com 
Subject: Re: Different Powers, same effects [was Instant Change] 
 
* Leah L Watts <llwatts@juno.com>  on Wed, 09 Jun 1999 
| Maybe it's just the people I choose to game with, but I haven't run 
into 
| anyone who would use Instant Change to copy, say, Iron Man's armor and 
| expect it to work like the real thing. 
 
I read an old Avenger's once where Molecule man disintegrated Iron Man's 
Armor (AFAIK this is how the Avengers discovered his Secret ID).  When 
they reached a reasonable conclusion to the adventure, molecule man (Was 
it really him?  I forget!) whomped up a suit for Iron Man that was 
basically a pair of PJ's that looked like Iron man armor.  I recall the 
formerly bad guy saying "I'm sorry but I couldn't possibly recreate all 
that complicted circuitry."  and Iron man replied "That's Okay, this will 
protect my secret identityy until I can get back to my lab." 
 
Perhaps an Example? 
 
 
Jay P. Hailey <Meow!>    [ICQ: 37959005]  
 
Read Star Trek- Outwardly Mobile At- 
 
http://www.geocities.com/~tesral/jay/ 
 
 
 
 
___________________________________________________________________ 
Get the Internet just the way you want it. 
Free software, free e-mail, and free Internet access for a month! 
Try Juno Web: http://dl.www.juno.com/dynoget/tagj. 
 
------------------------------ 
 
Date: Thu, 10 Jun 1999 15:33:22 EDT 
From: Akirazeta@aol.com 
Subject: Char: the crow 
 
Im working on this character for a dark hero game thats coming up. I was  
wondering what you guys had come up with for the Post Mordem Regen.  
 
Also, how would you write this clarsentience. Its 3 parted. 
 
#1 he can see through his birds eyes at an pretty good range. Easily a 1/2  
mile. 
 
#2 when he touches an object, he has full sensory flashbacks to the last  
relevent  
	(to him) event that it was present at. 
#3 the character can, by touch, have full sensory flashbacks to any event  
someone  else has witnessed. He can later also transfer this full sensory  
event to another person by touch. 
 
I plan to use those, a suped up regen, super human speed and dex, and a nice  
Gun Fighting multipower that i found on the net ( originally for chow yun  
fat). And, of course, the left over points will all go into damage resistance. 
 
------------------------------ 
 
End of champ-l-digest V1 #386 
***************************** 
Web Page created by Text2Web v1.3.6 by Dev Virdi
http://www.virdi.demon.co.uk/
Date: Friday, July 02, 1999 04:12 PM